INTERCULTURAL KNOWLEDGE AND COMPETENCE

Note: This essay originated from the GLCA Rubrics for Liberal Arts Learning Workshop, March 17-18, 2017. It was written by the following: Michael Dixon, mdixon@albion.edu, Art; Art History, Albion College Patrik Hultberg, Patrik.Hultberg@kzoo.edu, Economics, Kalamazoo College Jeff Kurtz, kurtz@denison.edu, Communication; Director of Center for Learning and Teaching, Denison  University Heather… Read More

GLOBAL LEARNING: Assignments/Assessment for Global Learning at a Liberal Arts College

Note: This essay originated from the GLCA Rubrics for Liberal Arts Learning Workshop, March 17-18, 2017.         It was written by the following: Steve Bouma-Prediger, boumapred@hope.edu, Religious Studies, Hope College Laura Reeck, lreeck@allegheny.edu , French, Allegheny College Ibra Sene, Isene@wooster.edu, History, The College of Wooster Rashana Smith,… Read More

Help One, Help All: Universal Design for Learning

Steve Volk, Center for Teaching Innovation and Excellence, Oberlin College (September 18, 2017). Contact:  svolk@oberlin.edu. The headline immediately caught my attention: “Atmospheric scientist at Illinois is on leave after refusing to provide lecture slides to student with disabilities.” Not exactly the Kardashians or the latest scorched-earth quote from Sebastian Gorka,… Read More

ESSAY FOR ACTION: Teaching Excellence, Errors of Ineptitude, and the Triple Bottom Line (Nate Eastman, Earlham)

Nate Eastman,  Associate Professor of English, Earlham College May 1, 2017 Introduction In his 2003 Lancet article “Errors: Incompetence, Ineptitude or Failure” Lionel Opie writes that “errors are of most interest when they reflect overt incompetence or ineptitude […] or failure to do what should have been done.”[1]  This is… Read More